//
you're reading...
GARDENING

Summer Harvest; the good and the bad

20131029_195940

(Some of my lettuce harvest)

Summer in New Zealand is undoubtedly superb! Although the weather can occasionally be unpredictably stormy, windy(can’t get windier than Wellington), rainy, earthquake-y(not a weather; random aftershock yesterday evening), and the warm spells are still a pleasant surprise for both humans and plants!

Also perfect for the coming Christmas BBQs! (New Zealand tradition) Since our ‘White Christmas’ (whiteness of the sandy beaches?) is in Summer, in addition to the good old traditional Christmas pig-out dinner, we also have Christmas BBQ lunches (Double stomach-stuffing time!).

Anyway, I’m going to contradict myself here and admit that warm spells aren’t always great for plants.

20131121_120014

Sure, warmth+sunlight = more photosynthesis = higher yield. But sometimes this can be a bit too much, resulting in i.e. bolting and seeding (as shown above in my poor lettuce).

Kind of like feeding your teenagers with too much food and you end up with totally ugly-looking gangly giants (This is how I always feel with my bolted plants haha), most of the time despicable, but you can’t help but keep taking care of them. Uprooting is too painful a process.

Anyway, some plants like lettuces also doesn’t cope well with high heat.

Solution? Water the plants heaps. More here: http://www.tropicalpermaculture.com/growing-lettuce.html Wilting is reversible, bolting isn’t.

20131121_115958

More ugly bolting pictures (see the flowers/seeds up the top? You can collect them to grow more plants next summer)

Other than the extremely high-yielding lettuces, I’ve got to boast about my super-mutant brocollinis:

20131121_114704

I’ve mentioned the franken-broccolinis in my post here: https://obsessivenutritioncompulsive.wordpress.com/2013/07/29/my-slightly-mutated-vegetable-garden/ where despite bolting and flowering lots of times, I’ve managed to keep them alive and edible (after your plants have bolted, they often become inedible)

20131121_114653

Over the year, they’ve matured into fledgling, beautiful young veggie plants!

I’m quite proud of myself for having raised (dragged) my broccolinis along for over two summers. Usually veggie plants are replaced after one season (for better looking/higher yielding young crops).

20131105_185310 (1)

20131114_183818

different shoots growing out.

20131114_183830

I feel like this crop has been higher-yielding than the first as well.

20131121_124943

And look at the scary mutant hugeness of the broccolini shoots!

20131121_124950

Purely organic, save for the occasional neighbour’s cat’s faeces.

Nutritious backyard veggies. Sometimes I wonder whether commercial veggies are cleaner than what I pluck out from my backyard, and clean up myself.

20131121_125028

Mutant broccolini-supermarket broccoli comparisons (I should let it keep growing next time, see how big it gets).

As they say, things improves with age.

In summary, glad winter is over and summer has arrived; the weather’s been great for some plants while not so good for other winter-suited ones. Summer flowers like carnation have been blooming well, while the Spring ones like Camellia and rhododendron are slowly fading away. Summer’s brought mostly happiness for the Southern hemisphere, while obviously, the changing weather in the Northern hemisphere have been damaging in some places (the Philippines typhoon, wish them all the best!). I guess life is a cycle of goodness and misery.

Whether it’s mostly the good rather than the bad, or vice versa, depends on your own mindset. 

About Izzy Manakongtreecheep

I am a food/health blogger and freshman at college. My intended majors are writing and nutritional science. My passions are nutrition, food, health; lesser ones: writing, yoga, jogging, cooking, baking, and Animal Rights Activism.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Summer Harvest; the good and the bad

  1. it makes me smile to read that it’s summer in NZ, because here in Switzerland we got our first snow last night! wanna swap? 🙂 lovely post btw!

    Like

    Posted by loveinlavender | November 21, 2013, 12:02 pm
    • Haha, I was tapping into ‘loveinlavender’ mode with the sentimental post 🙂 I’ll have to courteously decline the swap, thank you very much. Is Christmas quite vastly celebrated in Switzerland? i.e. comparing to in the US. But I’ll be spending the actual Winter Christmas this year in Thailand on the Northern Hemisphere though, still it most likely will not snow 😀
      -Iz

      Like

      Posted by Obsessive nutrition compulsive | November 22, 2013, 12:04 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Fighting phytic! Sprouting peanuts and kidney beans – how sprouted kidney beans can be dangerous + tips for successful sprouting! | I'm not obsessive nutrition compulsive. - December 4, 2013

Leave a comment

This blog has grown from every day recordings of nutritious meals, healthy recipes, into one that focuses on nutritional analysis of food from all kinds of cuisine. Expect to find useful information for dining healthily & deliciously here! My name is Izzy & I'm a college student in Massachusetts, USA. Follow me on my food and wellness adventure!

Archives

Blogs I Follow

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 365 other subscribers
mypassengerdiaries

travel and adventure

Thai Woman Talks - Language, Society, Politics & Love

Thai language, culture, education, sexuality, women, society, politics, Thai-foreign relationship

The Brisbaners

big dreams, small budgets

The Herb Diaries

The Herb Diaries has reclocated to www.theherbdiaries.com no new recipes will be posted here

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Tangly Cottage Gardening

a photo journal from the corner of Columbia and Pacific (Southwest Washington coast)

Ruby Reduction

Kitchen adventures inspired by my Grandmother, Ruby

watch hatch fly

empty nesting lifestyle & vegan food

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food